Love does not anger easily

I’m writing this as I listen to my new favorite Pandora station “French Café.” It immediately takes you somewhere else.
I love it- in all its “I can’t understand a damn thing you’re saying” perfection.

It’s perfect background music to find some zen. My social calendar is busy and my weekends are disappearing…work is finally slowing down after a crazy event week but I need to catch up on sleep. I’m trying to focus on gratefulness and the art of just letting it be this week.

In other random news I’m a self-confessed reality TV show obsessee. Guilty!  One of the Real Housewives got married recently and they used the ol’ 1 Corinthians bible verse to describe their love for each other. I find this verse kind of cliché, but it works. It reminds us that love is a whole lotta things to a whole lotta people.

As a dog mom, which is at least mildly close to that of a human mom, whenever I hear the ever-popular bible verse “Love is Kind” I sit up a little taller because I know I can relate. Of course I can relate this to my loving boyfriend too…but for the sense of the “Life Off Leash” theme we’ll stick to Murphy. Let’s face it, Murphy always wins.

Image

This verse tells us that not only does love not envy or boast but it also doesn’t anger easily (1 Cor 13:4-8)

…so does this mean that my anger is mildly justified? Like…it took me a while to get this angry and it’s 100% justified because of x, y, z…so is that some kind of carte blanche for the angry?

Murph, in all his glory, is the most stubborn, relentless, unyielding life form I’ve ever met! If he was a fungus he would be the kind that you just sort of get used to after awhile. “The walls are olive green anyways!”

Image

He’ll jump on you out of pure joy and excitement and rip a hole in your pants. He’ll pull on the leash to chase a squirrel and practically drag you down with him.

He is also very persistent – with the charm of a sweet cuddly teddy bear.

Don’t feel like going on a walk? Too bad he’s not leaving.
Don’t feel like he needs yet another treat? Too bad he’s already left your office to go in search of someone who will give it to him. I don’t make this stuff up people!

And the most frustrating part is my reaction to it all. I literally said to him one day “I don’t like you right now.” But it never lasts long. Any kind of parent can relate.

Our love for the little furball drives us crazy.

Love is patient too…let’s not forget that one.

2 thoughts on “Love does not anger easily

  1. Haha. Last night my pup stole my dinner (pork chops) off the kitchen counter while I was on the phone. You can bet I had some not-nice words to say to her, especially since I hadn’t eaten in 7 hours, and she already ate dinner! But after a 15 minute time-out in her kennel (which to her seems to be worth the yummy meat), I couldn’t be mad at her anymore. Sigh………..

    • They are so convincing!! The first time I brought Murphy to my parents house he jumped up on the counter and stole an entire rotisserie chicken. Thankfully he survived (!!) he was just so proud of himself I couldn’t even get mad at him :p

Leave a Reply

