Lessons from Murphy

Lesson #1 Think Yourself Awesome

Is everyone out there as routine as Murphy and I? Sometimes I worry our relationship may start to bore him, but then I remember he is a Border Collie…and even more so…a dog. He comes with me to work, gets three 10-minute walks during the work day and then another after dinner (I know, right!?) and basically just stares at me all day. Sometimes he sleeps and sometimes he squeaks the Wubba. But other than that, it just looks like this, all day, every day.

Image

And I’ll tell ya, it’s quite the ego boost. He really makes me feel…special. Celebrity special.
Sometimes I envy him. He’s goofy, floppy-eared, talks in his sleep, is completely neurotic, and to be honest, has mild butthead like tendencies… but he doesn’t care! In fact, he is pretty convinced that he is one awesome dog.  All things I love him about him; so why should he care?
Kid has a point.

If our flaws have helped to plop us where we are and have paired us up with the people in our lives, (the ones we honestly can’t live without)…why do we try to change them? God knows best. He told us that.

And you know who never struggles with such things? The life of a dog. “My owner is awesome therefore I am awesome.”

Something I am always trying to recognize is that “better” is a moving object. This can be tricky when we are always trying to well, better ourselves. I struggle with this when I am (ironically) super into working out. Why is that? I should feel empowered. Instead I now have more reasons to be critical? Who am I?! I think it stems from having to plan your very busy week around when you can fit in exercise and healthy eating, you just… think about it a lot. It makes sense. It takes a lot of planning. I just wish it wasn’t always so…always.

Walker and I were talking the other night about how exercise and eating healthy aren’t like getting your oil changed.

“Oh good, now that that’s done, I can relax for a year!”

People it’s like an everyday thing!
Similar to changing your pants, your routine dog walk, or calling your mom.

Murphy’s Advice: Find the time to feel awesome. Next, be awesome. Then, make someone else feel awesome.

Rinse and repeat.

Image

2 thoughts on “Lessons from Murphy

Leave a Reply

