“Sunday from Scratch” ~ For the Face

Happy Sunday!

This DIY post is all about the face. The one you have or the one you want, you decide 😉

My skin has always been on the  “combination” side, which is annoying… half of the time.  I suppose this is better than 100% of the time…?

In my quest for finding products with the most limited amount of chemicals, additives and basically…ingredients, I started with the face. I figured it was a pretty good place to start since I was having issues with random breakouts and dryness, and the overall fear (after too much research) that I was stripping my skin of it’s natural-naturalness.

*I probably sound like a Trader Joe’s insider/spy, but I really do love their products, and believe me…if they want to PAY me to write these, feel free! I’m right here! Come and get it.

Here is what I use on my face- Trader Joe’s Spa Face Wash with Tea Tree Oil. In case you didn’t know, tea tree oil is a natural blemish fixer-upper. It’s quite potent too, it smells like a spa!
+ This wash is cheap. Like $4.99 cheap.
  I can’t use it twice a day because it’s pretty intense and drys my face out too much.
+ Love the smell and just two squirts will give you enough to foam up and lather.

ImageWhen I get super dry, which happens, I rub a teeny bit of organic coconut oil on my face. I bought this from a Sprouts market in town. Yes, TJ’s sells it as well!

+ Also pretty cheap (and goes a long way) AND you can use it in your cooking, which I highly recommend. #MultiTasking
You will be kind of slimy… and don’t go to bed right away as it will get on your pillow
+ Totally worked for me. I used to use it everyday and now I’m only having to put it on select areas about once a week.
I wish it came with a spoon because when you get to the bottom of the jar it’s a please-don’t-let-my-hand-get-stuck in the cookie mason jar moment.
+ I also use it on my hair about once a week to give it a weekly rub down. Leaves it feeling super soft and yes, you have to shampoo it out! Don’t be a grease monkey and leave it in. We will no longer be friends.

For makeup users:

Stop using store bought eye makeup remover! They are ripping you off!! I dabbled with a few homemade removers, one that stung my eyes really bad and one that just plain didn’t work. I would share them, but I don’t really remember what the exact ingredients were…and well, you just shouldn’t try them.

Here is what mine looks like (using a 4 ounce bottle) and yes, it’s made up of two ingredients!

Image

Jojoba oil (pronounced “ho-ho-ba” much to my surprise, as I’ve been enjoying saying “jo-jo-ba” a bit too much) is another natural oil extracted from plants. I read up on it quite a bit, and it seemed to have a reputation for being a bit too oily. A little goes a long way on this one. So my remedy? Add water!

I didn’t exactly measure this, but you will get the hint. Add more oil if it doesn’t work. Add more water if it’s too oily. You’ll figure it out. I’ve seen your SAT scores, I know you can do it!
Let me know if you try these! I’m curious.

Check out previous “Sunday from Scratch” posts.

3 thoughts on ““Sunday from Scratch” ~ For the Face

    • I stopped having breakouts in my early 20s…and am now left with a single, solitary (monthly) pimple that I can expect like clockwork. Are you combo skin? This stuff is pretty intense for me, I can only use it once a day because it will dry my face out too much. I’d say it’s the opposite of oily skin. Try it!

  1. Pingback: Sunday From Scratch ~ Blackhead face mask | Life Off Leash

Leave a Reply

