“Sunday from Scratch” ~ Home & Garden

Hey kids!

I’ve decided on a new weekly feature called “Sunday from Scratch” I previously hinted at the fact that I’m dabbling with hippie-dippie-ness. I blame a combination of Pinterest and an obsessive need to Google… everything. The idea of homemade bathtub cleaner intrigued me at first because I thought it’d be cheaper. Then I started Googling and found that there is a whole lotta crap in a whole lotta products we buy. Out of fear of killing my unborn children, I’m trying to get crafty in the world of organic and DIY.
Granted, some experiments have been a grand success, while others a mere womp-womp. (Yes, I’ll share those too!) I’m hoping this new feature will not only allow me to share what I’ve learned, but also give me the additional incentive to keep exploring with new findings.

Home
Do you secretly like to clean? I mean, do you get a sort of thrill out of throwing things away and working up a sweat while you scrub-a-dub-dub? Just me? Pssh whatever.

Ok but do you KNOW what kind of chemicals they put in that stuff?? I made the mistake of Googling what all the hype was about and holy chemicals Batman! The worst part, is that they pay big money to make us think that you have to buy the cleaners they put in fancy squeeze bottles. Welp, thanks to good ol’ Martha Stewart, you don’t.

I made a homemade tub cleaner that works like a charm. Seriously never seen my tub whiter. Here’s the recipe I nabbed from Mama Stewart’s website, via Pinterest:

  • Add one teaspoon of liquid soap and several drops of an antibacterial essential oil (I used tea tree oil)
  • Add one cup of baking soda.
  • Add just enough water to form a paste.
  • Get to scrubbin’ with a sponge or brush!

Here’s the photo her highness posted:

ImageImage Source

And here’s what I came up with. Mama Stewart and I don’t exactly share the same…aesthetic.
I blame the iPhone.

tub scrub

Garden

I just love gardens. They remind me of my mom, especially tomato plants. Her Grandmother (“Mamas”) used to have a big ol’ garden down in Fresno and mom saw it as her own little escape. Do you think these things can be passed down through your genes? I do too.

So here is what I have started…

Image

If you look close enough you can see the round of a green tomato. It’s about the size of a plum!

I know you’re probably thinking, “Ummm, where’s the rest of it?”And I counter your question with a confession! I have this strange, thankfully not terminal, disease blockage known as Renter’s Mentality. I want a huge, sustainable garden with lots of veggies complete with a compost pile and two chickens, but because of said blockage, I can’t quite invest. I want to paint my room and put money into decorating…etc. How does one justify spending the money on stuff that you’ll only leave behind? Walker tells me if it makes you happy now, why sacrifice? I get it, but I can’t grasp it. I’m working on it.
Thus, my three-potted garden. And you can’t even eat a succulent, so…there’s that.

Question: Do you have Renter’s Mentality? And what are your thoughts on homemade products?

4 thoughts on ““Sunday from Scratch” ~ Home & Garden

  1. Oh girl, you’re my freaking HERO. I need to start paying attention to the chemicals I use around my apartment. I’m sure my ovaries are shriveling up and crying as we speak.

    • Hahaha right!? Unless it somehow works in our favor. Like…”Mom cleaned too much in her 20s, and that’s why you’re an amazingly perfect genius.” Here’s to hoping!

  2. Favortie quote: ” . . . a mere woomp woomp”
    First: if I ever get married will you help me write my vows.
    Second: Yes I totally have this problem too. But I blame it on the fact that I have 7% interest on my school loans. Thought process: if you are going to own a gazillion dollars in two years, do you really need that $25 (fill in with non-moveable item here) ????
    But I agree with Walker on the garden. DO IT! No matter where you live you can’t take the garden with you. Plus you will save more money in the long term. And chickens are hilarious to watch, plus fresh eggs are soooooo much better than the ones at the store.

    • Haha, Kate I love you! And yes I’ll help you write them if you help me to council my genes 🙂 *this suddenly sounds strange..? I agree on the chickens!!
      Although I’m not sure how the Murphster will handle them!

Leave a Reply

