Two Years

Just when I was starting to think I was a pretty awesome dog-mom, I realized I missed an anniversary. Two whole years with this little monster!

murphster

Being a dog-mom is a lot like being a human-mom (I assume) but without the boogers, temper tantrums and soccer practices. Instead, these little gems are replaced with eating too fast and projectile vomiting, tracking mud into the house and jumping and rebounding off of you, only to rip holes in your yoga pants, sweaters, tights, etc.

I will say however, Murphy has taught me a lot in these past two years. Though it feels like a lifetime, it’s only a snippet of our long love affair to come:

Great Expectations

I have this weird thing, where I get uncomfortable when people expect things from me. Like, you can want to do a million-and-one things for people, but as soon as it’s expected from you, you’re suddenly singing a different tune. You’re always available; you always enjoy this; you always say yes. It’s kind of a personal problem. But it’s my blog, so nana-nana-boo-boo.

Murphy however, doesn’t really care about this little inconvenience. He expects to ride shotgun in the car to work, multiple walks a day (because I’ve turned him into said monster) and to play ball (at work) every day.

outside2

It’s without question that I’ll go above and beyond- but every now and then I look down at him and think “What if I don’t feel like it!?” Insert rainy days, wanting to sleep in and trying to go to the gym instead of *gasp* go for a run.

This leads me to my next point:

Predictability

I am an intensely predictable person. (In action however, not conversation). I’ve been called out for saying really random things which in my head are most definitely what everyone was thinking, I just beat them to it.

Murphy understands this all too well. Makeup= she’s leaving, so curl up in your bed and put on your most pathetic face. Shoes with laces= we’re going on a run! Despite if this is true or not, I’m going to jump as high as I can so she’ll see me! Plastic bag in hand= we’re going for a walk! There is absolutely no chance that she might be switching out the bathroom garbage! No way!

It can get frustrating at times, because as I previously mentioned, I’m expected to be some sort of robot. It’s like that joke “Who’s Walking Who?” Story of my life.

Unconditional Love

This one is pretty obvious, but it wouldn’t be fair to the Murph if I didn’t include it. Despite all his crazy tendencies he’s still the goofiest, most loyal, over-the-top-obsessed-with-me, OCD pup I’ve ever met or been blessed to love.

Happy two years Smerf, you make my heart go round.

Our first week together back in January 2011. He knows who loves him already!

Our first week together back in January 2011

4 thoughts on “Two Years

Leave a Reply

